top of page

Vocabulary Fun! Honestly!

As you need to learn new vocabulary in every subject, this is a rare cross curricular blog! 

I'm pretty sure that if you announced to most classes (and many teachers) that they would be learning new vocabulary or testing vocabulary, synonyms for 'fun' would not spring to mind. But there are ways to inject some active movement, creative competition or team collaboration into vocabulary lessons. 


Vocabulary Racers

This is a great KS3 (and probably KS2) game to create friendly competition. There are two versions of the game. Both involve trying to use words to physically reach the other side of the room. I have often used it with lower ability groups who lack confidence to experiment with unfamiliar vocabulary and are reluctant to use a thesaurus/check through their notes. You will need some floor space but I've had the races weaving between tables before.

Firstly, you decide the teams so that you have a good mix of abilities. Decide what words you want them to create synonyms for or previously learnt vocabulary. Hand out around 20 sheets of the same sized scrap paper to each team. Create 'racing tracks' of the same length for each team across the room. Masking tape does this well. Hand out thesauruses or their books depending on what version you're playing. 

If I'm playing the synonyms version I use this moment to tell them I will remove bland words/incorrect keywords.

List your words on the board and the first team to create their track of words on pieces of paper to the other side of the room are the winners.

Walk around whilst they're 'racing' to ensure each team member knows the definitions of the words on their 'track'.

    2. The Chair Game

This was a game I saw in my PGCE year  used by a media teacher called Pete (I can't remember his last name unfortunately). I think I've probably adapted it slightly to suit my style but it was and is a really effective vocabulary test that students see as a treat.

Two students sit with their backs to the board, facing the class. Write your word on the board do they can't see but the class can.

The students must use their skill in description to define the word, no actions or 'sounds like'. Suggestions are only allowed from students selected by the teacher. The seated pair are allowed to call out but only get answer per suggestion which can be frustrating for them when they 'buzz in' too early.

Winner stays in the chair. Student with the winning clue sits in the other chair.

     3. Words'worth

Oh, I do love a pun!

Write a paragraph relating to your topic on the board with deliberately bland words used and circled. 

Students in teams or individually improve the words with more worthy synonyms. 

The teacher asks for improved paragraphs and then asks if anyone can improve further. After a few versions, the teacher writes the 'best' version on the board to be copied into books/photographed by students. Sometimes I let the winners leave the class first on the bell.

There are many others but these are my old reliables. The schools and groups I have taught often need movement to keep them engaged,  mixed in with more 'traditional' activities. I'm yet to buy my copy of 'Closing the Vocabulary  Gap' by Alex Quigley but I'm anticipating an update to this post when I'm back at school (and not scrimping at the end of my maternity leave).

Please do share your active learning activities too!

bottom of page